top of page

My life drastically changed


Trigger warning: Sexual assault

It was my Sophomore year when I faced the most challenging time of my life. Not only was I far from my family, but I felt trapped and only came to school for class. During that all too memorable year, I was sexually assaulted. In addition to this event being extremely traumatic, the offender was my cousin. My life drastically changed and as a way to process and continue with my life, I began a blog to discuss my experience and encourage others to speak out. Today I am a senior at Seattle Pacific University and currently live on Capitol Hill. I am originally from Guam and I value the significance of family in my life. My mother has made the biggest impact on my life and she inspires me daily. Despite having me when she was still a teenager, my mother has overcome many obstacles and is very understanding and hardworking. My place of comfort is being at home with my large family. After being sexually assaulted, I realized my ability to empathize and understand those who have also been sexually assaulted. I am more aware of other people and their behaviors following my assault two years ago. In addition to empathizing with others, I have a heart for the homeless community and my goal is to use my Sociology degree to teach others about the truths and realities of homelessness. This is an important issue to me because many people often misunderstand and negatively view those who are homeless. In addition to homelessness, I also desire to make those around me feel comfortable and loved. Although I still have trust issues, I desire to speak life into others and display courage and the power to overcome.

If you are experiencing sexual violence or are in need of emotional support, please visit rainn.org/get-help or call 800-656-HOPE (4673).


 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page