top of page

Not many people believed the same things as me


I was like most people in high school. I was misunderstood, written-off, and forced to be someone I wasn’t. I was quiet, had to hide my faith, and was overcome with depression.

I grew up as a pastor’s kid, and quickly found out in middle school that not many people believed the same things as me. I was judged for being a Christian because people assumed I hated anyone who identified as anything other than heterosexual or that sex before marriage meant you were going to Hell. With the fear of people hating me because of my faith, I didn’t proclaim it and wasn’t able to be myself. I surrounded myself with people who didn’t seem to care instead of being able to have positive people who poured into me. I was seen as the quiet girl who was an easy target to pick on. I often felt unnoticed by my friends.

As I got more connected in my youth group through church, I realized that I had a voice. I learned that people would listen to me, go to me for advice, and help me change their lives. I can be quiet when it’s time to listen, but am able to speak life into others when given the chance to.

After graduation, I came to SPU based on a strong feeling I was supposed to be here. Ever since, I have grown into myself. Now, people see me as an extroverted, go-to gal with an ear to listen. I have grown into a confident and beautiful woman of God who is finally able to be who I’m meant to be.


 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page