top of page

I hope to grow in this way


Growing up in a firm, Catholic family holds strong expectations. That being said, I try my hardest to meet those expectations. I strive to be the best in my classes and focus on that so that I can avoid distractions that would disrupt my relationship with God. I don’t do these things just because I’m afraid of the consequences if I don’t, but also because I enjoy them. I’m at my best when I am studying, struggling, and working hard alongside some of my closest friends and peers. In that setting, I know I can be focused but also let loose a bit and show my carefree side. I value these friends and know I can relax because I know I can trust that they are comfortable, honest and open with themselves and me.

I haven’t always been like this. I had to learn some lessons and overcome some challenges to reach this spot. High school helped instill my hardworking drive. I was horrible at chemistry. Most people would say that’s fine; a lot of people suck at chemistry. But I was not okay with that. I wanted to be good at chemistry because I found it so interesting. So I put in a ton of work to become a great chemist, and now chemistry is my major and I’m thriving in the program. In high school, I struggled with confrontation. I had a close friend who was mistreating other people in a way I knew was wrong. I was afraid that if I said something, it would be uncomfortable. However, I knew I had to say something. So I overcame that fear to do what needed to be done and everything worked out fine. I do wish that I would have explored more clubs and extracurriculars to see more of what I was interested in.

I’m still working on perfecting my work ethic. I look up to those farther ahead in the major who are working several jobs, going to school full-time, and still get excellent grades. I also think that people who can stay calm and poised in stressful situations are admirable. I hope to grow in this way as well. Some people see me as grumpy, and others see me as child-like. I think this depends on the context you see me in. Either way, I’d like people to see me as a dependable person. I want to use my work ethic to help others as much, if not more, than myself.


 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page